Lesson Number Two: Calling Someone Stupid Doesn’t Make you any Smarter

To quote one of my favorite movies, “Calling somebody else fat won’t make you any skinnier. Calling someone stupid doesn’t make you any smarter. And ruining Regina George’s life definitely didn’t make me any happier. All you can do in life is try to solve the problem in front of you.” – Mean Girls

This quote means a lot to me. It’s not only from one of the funniest girl movies ever, excluding Bridesmaids, but it represents one of the greatest lessons I’ve learnt in college.

My Story 

I’ll be the first to admit it. During high school, I was a brat. Both my parents will testify to that. Whenever I felt down, I’d just look at someone else and subconsciously put him or her down in my mind. We all do it. Whenever you have a bad hair day you tell yourself, “at least my hair doesn’t look like that.” You fail a test, you say, “at least I didn’t do as bad as him.” Going back to the quote, “calling someone stupid doesn’t make you any smarter.”

I learnt this a few weeks into my college career. I’d been watching a girl who lived on my floor from a distance. All I knew was that she didn’t have many friends, her hair was a mess and we had class together. After our first test, I talked to her on our way back to the dorms. It turns out she’d passed the test while I, well didn’t. For the first time, I realized that it didn’t matter what I has to say about her, it didn’t change the fact that I’d failed the test.

Before our next test, I asked her if we could study together. To my surprise, we both received ‘A’s’ on the test. This is what they call a “light bulb” moment. I finally understood what my mother had always taught me: supporting people get’s you a whole lot further than trying to bring them down.

Leave High School bad Habits at the Door

Judging, bringing people down, backstabbing and badmouthing are unfortunately common qualities of most high school students. Do yourself a favor: stop. While these childish actions were acceptable in high school, I’d advise you to ditch them before joining the college world. No benefit can come from them. Ask yourself: Is a moment of cruel satisfaction really worth hurting someone? Is temporarily forgetting your flaws reason to bring a friend down? If you answered yes, you should probably reevaluate your life.

The Lesson

While it may be easier to put someone else down to feel better, it’s more beneficial to reach out, ask for help and improve whom you are. Don’t hide behind others flaws. Step into the light and see yourself for whom you are. Ask yourself why you’re bringing others down then act to fix it. Kindness is a virtue. Be the best person you can be.

Photo courtesy of IMCDB.org

3 thoughts on “Lesson Number Two: Calling Someone Stupid Doesn’t Make you any Smarter

  1. Great advice, Stephanie. It takes a lot of courage to step into the light and see yourself. Looks like college has taught you some important life lessons.

  2. Pingback: Lesson Number Three: Don’t let anyone hold you back | Don't Pass out With Your Shoes on

  3. First and foremost, I love that you used that fabulous ‘Mean Girls’ quote as a starting point for your post. It truly is quite relevant to your topic.
    That being said, I think this topic is a little too basic for a college blog. You stated,
    “Going back to the quote, ‘calling someone stupid doesn’t make you any smarter.’ I learnt this a few weeks into my college career.”
    I agree with Professor Moore, but I REALLY hope you knew this fact before entering college.

Leave a Reply

